YEREVAN, CITY OF SUN AND CITY WITH FLAIR
Yerevan is the capital and largest city of Armenia and one of the world’s oldest continuously inhabited cities. Situated along the Hrazdan River, Yerevan is the administrative, cultural, and industrial center of the country. The territory of Yerevan is 233 sq. km., at an altitude of 900-1300, above sea level. The population of Yerevan is 1.200.000 people.
The 12th capital of Armenia, Yerevan is 2802 years old, but at the same time it is one of the youngest cities of the world. The city’s chronology is traced back to the foundation of the Erebuni Fortress in 782 BC by King Argishti I of Urartu. With Erebuni as a reference point, Yerevan is in fact 29 years older than Eternal Rome. In addition, many churches and temples have been preserved attesting to the fact that there was life in Yerevan in the Middle Ages. Nonetheless, Yerevan is a modern city, and its current image was formed in the middle 20th century.
Yerevan has a fascinating panorama. To the north, it opens out onto the massifs of four peaked Aragats and Ara, and to the south onto the Ararat Valley and the ice-capped peaks of Mount Ararat. So this is one of the reasons that biblical Mount Ararat is the symbol of the city.
Since 1918, Yerevan is the first capital city of Republic of Armenia. Welcome to old and new Yerevan, the city of history and hospitality!
EREBUNI FORTRESS (founded in 782 BC by Argishti I)
The fact that fortress of Erebuni (Arin Berd) was founded in 782 BC by Argishti I is confirmed with the cuneiform inscription which is the “birth certificate” of Yerevan. The visiting-card of Yerevan: unique fortress Erebuni, also affirms the name and the age of Yerevan.
Yerevan Fortress was rebuilt in 1582-1583 on the place of an ancient Armenian fortress. In 1880s Nerses Tairyans built a brand Factory in the northern part of the fortress. Now it is the Ararat Brandy-Wine-Vodka Factory of Yerevan. Here in this factory you can order a guide tour if you are interested in the history of Armenian Cognac making and tasting, where you can also see some parts of the ruins of the old Fortress of Yerevan.
SAINT GREGORY THE ILLUMINATOR MOTHER CHURCH OF YEREVAN
On the occasion of the 1700th anniversary of Christianity as a state religion, was built Mother church Saint Gregory the Illuminator in 2001 where there are now the relics of Saint Gregory the Illuminator, which were a gift from Pope John Paul II from Vatican City.
Address: Yervand Qochar Str.,
Tel. + 374 10 54 33 32
SAINT ZORAVOR ASTVATSATSIN CHURCH
This church is one of the oldest churches in Yerevan. A chapel (later it became a famous sanctuary) was built in the 9th-10th centuries on the grave of apostle Anania. His name is mentioned in the Bible.
Address: 9 Ghazar Parpetsi Str.,
Tel. + 374 10 53 01 62
SAINT SARGIS CHURCH
Saint Sargis is considered to be one of the favorite saints of the Armenians. Saint Sargis church is believed to date back to 1453. The church fonctions in the center of the city.
Address: 21 Israelyan Str.,
Tel. + 374 10 58 57 13
SAINT THE BLESSED VIRGIN “KATOGHIKE” CHURCH
Due to the inscription on its western front, the church is believed to be built in 1693. In 2015was open the seat of Catholicos in Yerevan.
Address: 17 Abovyan Str.,
Tel. + 374 55 91 35 45
Katoghike Cathedral in Avan was built 5th – 6th centuries. Its construction was an innovation in Armenian architecture and it set an example for the other churches built in the very style.
POKROVYAN CHURCH OF MILITARY COMPLEX
The church is located in the territory of the military camp complex. It was built in 1913 to meet the religious needs of the officials of the first Poltavian regiment.
Address: Qanaqer Zakaria Sarkavag Str.,
Tel. + 374 10 28 42 12
BLUE MOSQUE IN YEREVAN
This Persian mosque, built in 1760, on the decree of Hussein Khan, is situated in the center of Yerevan. English explorer H. Lynch who had paid a visit to Yerevan at the end of the 19th century spoke of the structure with great praise and admiration.
Address: 12Mesrop Mashtots Ave.,
Tel. + 374 10 52 21 93
KOMITAS PARK AND PANTHEON
Many outstanding figures of Armenia’s artistic world are buried here, including Komitas (1869 – 1935), the founder of Armenian national school of music composition, after shom it is named. He freedArmenian music from foreign influencesand was the firstto prove that the Armeniannation has its own music.
PANTHEON OF YERABLUR
The cemetery was foundedto house the warriors, who were fallen during Nagorno Karabakh war and Andranik Ozanyan, fighter against Turkey in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
The main square of Yerevan is Republic Square (former Lenin Square, 1926) since the years of independence with its ellipse like buildings and a pool (the Government’s building, the House of Communication and Union, the Armenia-Marriott Hotel, the Museum of Armenia’s History and the National Gallery). The square looks more admirable because of the pool in front of the museum building. The architect Al. Tamanyan seems to have gathered all the achievements of the Armenian architecture, creating a complete and fully harmonious complex of classical, national, and contemporary elements.
Freedom Square, former Theatre Square, is a round square situated in front of the Opera House Building. In 1991 it was renamed Azatutyan Square in honor of the 3th Republic of Armenia. In this square there are monuments to Alexander Spendiaryan (founder of Armenian national symphonic music) and Hovhannes Tumanyan (the author of librettos to Anush and Almast). Swan Lake is near the square.
SQUARE OF FRANCE
This square is situated at the crossroads of Mashtots Avenue and Sayat Nova street. In 2006 it was named Square of France in honor of France Days in Armenia. Many guests were present in the Grand Opening, which took place with the participation of ex-president of France Jacques Chirac and world-famous singer Charles Aznavour.
SQUARE AFTER CHARLES AZNAVOUR
This square is situated on Abovyan street and occupies the middle part of Moscow Cinema and the Yerevan Golden Tulip Hotel (1927-1958). In 2001 this square was named after Charles Aznavour in honor of the worldwide famous Armenian-French singer, who was considered UNESCO’s ambassador to Armenia and International ambassador of French chanson. In the center of the square there is a pool surrounded with 12 zodiac signs.
SQUARE OF RUSSIA
Square of Russia is the first square when you enter the city center form the airport. The Grand Opening took place on the 21st of October, in 2008 with participation of the president of Russian Federation, the president of The Republic of Armenia and mayor of Yerevan. This square is the symbol of indissoluble ties between Armenia and Russia.
In the context of the 70th anniversary of the Council of Europe, in 2019, the central part of the Northern Avenue was renamed Europe Square.
England Park is one of the oldest parks of Yerevan (1850, 1898). If one looks at this park from above its master plan looks like the flag of the United Kingdom, which is flag with trees. Maybe it was the main reason that people called English Park. Many trees are from Russia and Poland. During the Soviet Period the park was called 26 Commissars’ Park but in 1997 it was renamed England Park.
The former name of this park was Pushkinski (after a Russian writer). It was renamed into Lover’s Park in 1995. It is designed in Japanese landscaping style and with Armenian spirit as many stones were brought from regions of Armenia.
Victory Park is a huge park located at the top of the Cascade in Yerevan. The park is named Victory Park in commemoration of Soviet Armenia’s participation in the Second World War. The visiting-card of this park is a huge monument-statue of Mayr Hayastan (Mother Armenia) which personifies the eternal readiness of Armenia to protect its people. From the park a panoramic view to the downtown of Yerevan revealed.
This monument is considered the observation point of Yerevan. The Cascade joins the city center (downtown) with the residential are located high in mountains with the northern part of Yerevan, making a straight line with Northern Avenue. It is a huge staircase with 572 steps and 991 feet rising from the platform nearby the monument to Al. Tamanyan. This complex is a sample of monumental architecture made from white petrosilex. It has an escalator 100 m in length, which makes it shortest way to the uphill. In 2002 the foundation of Cafesjian was founded in this territory. In 2009 Cafesjian Center for the Arts was opened here.
Ring-shaped Park was renamed Yeritasardakan Park (Park for the young) in 2005, and it was divided into 6 parts according to streets. In the 6th part of the park one of the popular places in Yerevan, “Aragast”, commonly “Popolovok”, cafe-complex, is situated, where both famous Armenian jazz musicians and jazz bands and world-known musicians took part in different concert programmes. In this park there are also statues of many famous people.
Children’s Railway Park is one of the most beautiful parts of the Hrazdan Gorge. The railway was built in 1943. Today, visitors can take a ride on the narrow gauge and railroad from 1937, looping through the Hrazdan gorge and running for about 600 m. Although slightly run-down, the track offers a unique glimpse into life in Soviet-era Armenia.
Address: 130 Dzorapi Str.,
YEREVAN BOTANICAL GARDEN
Yerevan Botanical Garden was founded in 1935. Here you can see species of trees and shrubs not only from all the regions of Armenia, but also from Caucasus, North America, China, Korea and the Far East. One section of the Botanical Gardens represents the species of flowers. There are about 1100 species.
Address: 15 Lepsiusi Str.,
Tel. + 374 10 62 17 81
The Yerevan Zoo (1940) is one of the coziest corners in the Capital. Today there are around a thousand animals of 140 species exhibited in the Zoo. The Zoo’s live collection includes a vast diversity of animals and birds representing different climatic zones that come from remote corners of the world, such as tigers, lions, primates and a number of exotic birds. Among this diversity, the species typical to Armenian Highland – Armenian Mouflon, Bezoar Ibex, Syrian Brown Bear, Caucasian lynx, 4 species of vultures undoubtedly stand out in the Zoo’s collection. Address: 20 Miasnikyan Ave.,
Tel. + 374 10 56 23 62
PARK OF YEREVAN 2800
The park is dedicated to the 2800th anniversary of Yerevan at the back of Alexander Myasnikyan statue. Nearly 250 species of unique trees have been planted in the park. The fountain of the park has 2800 jets. 5420 square metres of the area were tiled with seven sorts of granite stone depicting the ornaments of old Armenian carpets and in the center there is the map of Yerevan and surrounded with foutains. The park is the continuation of the “Erebuni-Yerevan 2750” park.
The Armenian Victims’ Genocide Memorial is erected in Yerevan, on the hillside of Tsitsernakaberd (Swallow’s Fortress) and is dedicated to the memory of the victims of 1915 Armenian genocide. Every year, on 24 April, Armenians from all over the world visit the Memorial to commemorate the victims of the massacre of the Armenian populations. Many visitors come here to put bouquets at the eternal flame. In 1995 the memorial complex was completed with a museum dedicated to the genocide of all the massacred peoples in the 20th century.
Address: 8/8 Tsitsernakaberd Highway,
Tel. + 374 10 39 09 81
The Opera House is one of the outstanding landmarks of the country. Located in the heart of Yerevan it was designed by the architect Alexander Tamanyan who connected two auditoriums in a semicircular building in a unusual way. While building this temple of art, Tamanyan used the best traditions of Medieval Armenian architecture. National Academic Opera and Ballet Theatre was officially opened on the 20th January, 1933. The theatre capacity is 1272 people; the philharmonic hall-1400. The project was awarded the “Grand Prix” at the International exhibition in Paris 1937.
Address: 54 Tumanyan Str.,
Tel. + 374 10 58 63 11
The Matenadaran, Mesrop Mashtots Research Institute of Ancient Manuscripts, which dominates the centre of Yerevan, is located on a hill at the end of Mashtots Avenue. It-s a huge basalt building which is typical to Armenian architecture of Middles Ages. It was founded in 1959 on the basis of the state repository of manuscripts and named after Mesrop Mashtots (the creator of Armenian alphabet). This is a unique Institution of Ancient Manuscripts where 17 thousand manuscripts are kept, 14.5 thousand of which are in Armenian and 2.5 thousand in foreign Languages – Arabic, Assyrian, Persian, Indian, Georgian, Latin and Ethiopian.
Address: 53 Mashtots Avenue,
Tel. + 374 10 51 30 00
“ARARAT” BRANDY FACTORY
The enchanted country of the famous Armenian cognac organizes fun guided tours with special tastings in its well-known palace on the Hrazdan river. The Yerevan Brandy Company is currently a part of the French Pernod-Ricard group. The company’s cellars include barrels dating to the 19th century. During the visit you learn that the Armenian brandy is made only from white grapes and from five different varieties. You walk along the avenue of Charles Aznavour, pass “the barrel of peace” and the guide will say that that special brandy will be served only when Armenia and Azerbaijian reach a peace agreement on Karabagh. In the tasting room the guide will say that the glass should be kept in the left hand, closer to heart …
Address: 2 Admiral Isakov Ave.,
Tel. + 374 10 51 01 00
The famous Vernissage has been also held in the centre of Yerevan every weekend. It welcomes the painters and artisans of Armenia, thousands of spectators flock to admire the abundance of paintings, they are surprised by the refinement of style and fantasy of these exponents of art and national craftsmanship. Here, the artisans contest with each other for their ability to create wonders by challenging stone, metal, wood, clay, colour and shaping them.